La Paz, Bolivia and journey to Puno, Peru

With a couple of picturesque days in Coroico of mountains and windy paths, I travelled back to the busy city of La Paz. Now I had a few day left before moving to another country.

When I got to the bus station, I took a taxi to my hostel, checked in and dropped off my bag. First I bought my bus ticket to Puno in Peru from an agency, costing 80 Bolivians and then my mission was to buy a hoodie to replace the one I lost. I wasn’t sure if I would find one and at what price. Not far from my hostel was a clothes market with brand clothes and shoes. I found a burgundy one with no brand as it was cheaper. Still more expensive than the one I bought in England but I needed one. I should have barter but I just couldn’t be bothered. As I was in the mood for shopping, I wandered around the souvenir’s market, where I got a nice wool jumper, which every tourist person has, and a pencil case.IMG_0697

Then I went to the big market to buy a sandwich and a juice. Back at the hostel, I contacted my friend, who I met New Zealand. I knew we were going to cross paths in south America and here it was. I was so excited to see a familiar face. It was the last day of her part one tour, so they were going out for a meal together.

In the evening, I walked to her hostel, two minutes from mine to met her. It was so great. We all got a taxi together to an Asian restaurant. It was more expensive than my budget but I knew it would be. I got a vegetable red curry with rice and a nan bread. As I was talking so much, I was slow at eating so everyone else finished way before me. It was no problem, I just shovelled it down at the end.

Then we got a taxi back to there hostel and sat in an English pub for a drink. We stayed there until quite late when we decided to go. I had to be up early the next day so it wasn’t a big one. I went to my hostel, sorted out my bag a little and hopped into bed. As soon as my head hit the pillow, I was gone.

I had to be awake just before 6.30am to have a shower, pack my bag fully as I was being picked up at 7am from the reception area. I managed to have some bread with jam and juice from the hostel before I was leaving. When I got collected, I wan taken to the bus, where I hopped on and found my seat. The lady picked up a few more people then we drove to the bus station to collect the rest of the people. I had to do this journey during the day as I was crossing the border. I was slightly worried about crossing the border as one never knows if there will be complications.IMG_0929

It took a long time to get out of La Paz but once we were, there wasn’t much traffic on the road, driving to Lake Titicaca, taking around 3 hours. Here, everyone had to get off the bus with their bags and purchase a ticket for a small boat to cross the lake. Passengers took one boat while the coach took another. It was a five minute trip. On the other side, we waited for the bus to cross. I ended up talking to an Australian girl and two Israeli guys going on a day trip to some of the island in lake Titicaca.

Back on the bus, we drove for about 40 minutes to Copabana up the hill, looking over the beautiful scenery of the Lake, which is pretty much on the border of Peru. I was a little late getting there but my next bus hadn’t left yet. I found my bus, where they gave me some immigration forms to fill out. I bought some cheese and tomato empanadas.IMG_0966

I think we drove for about 30 minutes to the border. It looked like a slightly dodgy place. However, we all got off the bus and queued up to get stamped out of Peru. I tokk a while as there were loads of people. The guy in the booth looked at my passport and the computer longer than other people. I was feeling slightly worried but he stamped and I was free to go. I exchanged the rest of my Bolivianos to soles then walked under 5 minutes for the next border control to get into Peru. Again, I had to wait but he stamped and I was through. We waited for everyone from the bus to go through then we jumped back on the bus. There was of a time difference of one hour so I had an extra hour.

The journey to Puno was another 3 hour, driving through little villages. The bus had to stop a few time for the police, who wanted to check drugs on the bus. The driver convinced then it was a tourist bus so they didn’t need to check.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Sunset view of Copacabana beach from the Sugarloaf mountain #riodejaneiro #brazil #copacabana #sugarloafmountain #mountain #montana #sunset #paodeacucar #beautifulview #beach #plays www.veggietravellingteacher.com  I actually got to see Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #christ #redeemer #statue #view #bluesky www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The incredible Royal Portuguese Reading Cabinet #riodejaneiro  #brazil #reading #leer #books #libros #library #study #travel #viaje #portuguese #travelgram #spectacular www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The famous Selaron steps in Río de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #colours #colores #bright #steps #stairs #selaronescadaria #selaronsteps #southamerica #travel #backpacker www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Natural mud bath on the beach in Paraty #paraty #brazil #beach #playa #mud #bath #mountains #montana www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Inside Paraty's beautiful church #paraty #brazil #church #altar #beautiful
