A little time in my hometown for Christmas and New Year

img_20170103_153351After travelling, working and volunteering for two years in various countries around the world, it was time to visit my home country. In the last few days of travelling, time seemed to slow down as I was anticipating my arrival back home.

I was so excited to see my friends and family, and with only two weeks back in England, I had to plan and pack my days in. This wasn’t the easiest thing to do as it was Christmas and New Year and many people were busy.

At the London airport, I collected my bag and walked through the arrival gate. As kind of expected, my mum and sister wasn’t there, but it didn’t take took long before I saw them. I had the biggest grin on my face. I gave them the biggest hug. It was so strange seeing them in person and not on skype.

During those two weeks, I did as much as I could, loving the fact of spending time with friends and family and just appreciating my hometown again. Some of the things included:

  • spending Christmas day with my Mum, younger brother, sister and her boyfriend
  • having boxing day round my brother’s house
  • seeing my nephew for the first time
  • having New Years with my best friend, pub crawling
  • visiting London with my mum and seeing a theatre show
  • going to Bristol for a few days to see family
  • wandering around Brighton, exploring the laines, shopping, seeing the beach
  • going to the Marina with my old housemate
  • having coffee with friends
  • spending time with jan
  • enjoying take aways with friends
  • seeing a Uni friend in winchester
  • having lunch with my sister
  • having a final farewell with family

It was an incredible two weeks at home, and it made me realise it was the right time to visit. It also felt extremely odd as everything felt familiar but also distant. I felt like I just didn’t quite belong there anymore. I have changed and maybe so have others. I don’t know my future in the long term but right now I love travelling.

My next plans is to fly to Bolivia in South America. This will be my first time in this part of the world, ticking off a new continent. I’m going to travel Bolivia, Peru, Ecuador before settling in to a place in Colombia to teach. At the moment, I don’t know where I will be travelling in these countries or for how long as i’m waiting for the Colombian government to confirm my start day. However, I am extremely excited to be moving on but also sad to say farewell to my friends and family.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

Escape and breath the air of new places.
www.veggietravellingteacher.com 
#kingscanyon #australia #nature #redcentre #escape #quote #backpacking #peaceful #sunrise #fresh Sunset views like this literally take my breath away.
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#lasnubes #jerico #antioquia #colombia #sunset #hike #travel #viajar #weekendtrip #green #montaña #mountains I could just sit and admire this view for hours
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#queenstown #newzealand #lake #bluesky #beautifulview #travel #travelgram #backpacking #mountains #montaña #1yearago Last night's sunset with a view!
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#jerico #antioquia #colombia #southamerica #view #landscape #paisaje #travel #travelgram #weekendtrip #findesemana #mountains #montaña A beautiful slow boat ride on the Mekong river from Chiang Rai to Luang Prabang. Want to know more? Read at: www.veggietravellingteacher.com 
#mekong #chiangrai #luangprabang #thailand #laos #slowboat #river #rio #landscapes #paisaje #travel #viajar #travelgram #mountains #montaña #backpacker #2yearsago www.veggietravellingteacher.com
Who doesn't love escaping the city to a quiet pueblo at the weekend? @lascometashostel
#jerico #antioquia #colombia #weekend #findesemana #travel #viajar #escape #village #pueblo #city #cuidad #colorful #peaceful #tranquila
