Taipei, Taiwan part 2: Beitou hot springs and Taipei 101

When I arrived in the centre of Taipei, I hopped on the subway to my hostel. It was difficult to find but it was hard to find the entrance as the front had been closed off with no sign. Wandering around the building, I eventually found the reception area, where I could check in straight away.

I walked to my dorm room to find the beds had their own sections like capsules and I had been given a top one. My stomach was feeling hungry so I found the nearest food establishment, which happened to be Maccies.img_20161211_120707

For the rest of the afternoon, I took advantage of the massage chairs in the common area and the free washing machines and dryer. In the evening, I didn’t do much more except find some dinner, where there was limit choice around and also it was raining so I didn’t want to go far. I ended up having an early night, which was what I needed.

Waking up at a reasonable time, I did all the normal morning shenanigans and lugged my bag to the reception area for safe keeping. Then I walked to the subway to ride for about 30 minutes to Xinbeitou startion, changing a couple of times.img_20161207_142733

As I took off from the subway, it felt calm and no longer in a busy city. I could see a lot of tourists around but mostly Asian travellers. Beitou is a natural hot spring recreation area on the outskirts of the city.

There were plenty of map around the station to find the way around the town plus also the most popular attractions. The first place I wanted past was Taipei Public Library, which is located in a beautiful setting and has eco-friendly architecture. I didn’t go in as it was packed full of people and wanted to carry on. Across the road is the Ketagalan Culture Centre, a museuem about the local Taiwanese culture.img_20161211_115840

A little further one is Beitou Hot Springs Museum, placed in a English looking cottage. Inside is the history of the hot springs plus the original bath in Beitou. As you enter, you have to take off your shoes and they give you slippers to wear around. It was a little strange but also free of charge so I can’t complain.

Walking up the street a little more, I was welcomed with the Millennium Hot spring Public bath. It is technically open and used for everyone but when I went in there were only locals. There were signs everywhere which told the public the type of swimming stuff which was allowed: no long, pocket swimming shorts or bikinis. I only had my bikini with me but I was also wearing a thin dress that day. I wanted to be respectful so I paid to get in, which was a lot cheaper than any surround hotel with hot springs,  then changed into my swimsuit with my dress over the top. I felt a little intimidated with all these Taiwanese people staring at the only white, blonde, young girl in the hot spring. It was jammed packed with little space to move in the pools.img_20161211_104230

One older guys started to talk to me and showed me the ropes about how it worked. There were about 6 different pools on different levels at different temperature. He encouraged me to go in the 35 degree one first, where I had to wash my feet before immersing myself. Also I had to make sure that my hair was completely out of the water.

People made a space for me to sit and relax. I couldn’t be in this one too long as it was extremely hot so I transported myself into the coldest one as this is how you’re meant to do it. I felt a little light headed for a bit but soon got use to the coldness. For the rest of my time in the Hot Spring, I went from hot – cold –hot and repeated this process.

After a while, some female westerners came in in their bikinis but didn’t get shooed away so I guess it might have been okay.img_20161211_125628

When I felt ready to leave after a relaxing time, I got changed and squeeze out my dress as I still needed to wear it. Luckily it dried in no time, which wasn’t a problem as it wasn’t cold.

Adjacent to the Public Hot springs is the Plum Garden, which is another small museum. Then I carried on until I came to the entrance of the Thermal Valley. It is a landmark sight, which everyone wants to see.

The Thermal Valley is a jade coloured pool of water sunken into a crater that constantly stays boiling hot at a temperature of about 80 – 100 degrees Celsius. You can’t swim or even touch the water: just look at take some photos,

As you approach the pool, you can feel the steam rising from the surface, giving a sulfuric aroma of eggs, which is not appealing but I was pretty cool to see.

After, I slowly dawdled back to the station, stopping to buy some juice and sitting in the park, admiring the view.DCIM119GOPRO

I was thinking about going to the National Palace Museum but read that it is massive and would need plenty of time to make the most of it. Instead I went back to the hostel to chill and wash my hair.

Later on in the afternoon, I caught the red line subway to Taipei 101, which was the tallest building in the world from 2004-2009. On several floors from the bottom, there are many shops appealing to those who have money to spend on clothes from Prada or Gucci. I went down to the basement, where I searched for food in the food court. I ordered some udon noodle, which were tasty.

As I had quite a bit of Taiwanese money spare, I decided to pay to go up the top of Taipei 101. Normally, I wouldn’t have as I’ve been up in high towers and seen views of different cities. The queue was quite big for the elevator up. Apparently, it’s the fastest lift in the world going up about 82 levels in 45 seconds. I could feel my ears pop as we rocketed to the top. I had gone the perfect time where it was turning to night but unfortunately it started to rain slightly so the view wasn’t the best. It was awesome seeing the view of the city.  Inside is the largest tuned mass damper so is designed to withstand typoons and earthquakes.img_20161211_155611

There was a sort of route that had to be followed to find the elevator back down, going through souvenir shops and ornament shops. Once I was back on ground level, I went back to my hostel to change my clothes before going to the main bus station to get a bus to the airport.

My flight was early in the morning so I though the best thing to do was to sleep there. Well, it wasn’t one of my best decisions. I was in terminal 2, which might have been the least popular terminal but also under construction. When I arrived, I bought myself a maccies meal before trying to find a place to sleep for the night. I literally looked everywhere. There were no comfy seats, only hard, slate blocks on one level. I did eventual find a row of chairs outside the luggage packing shop, which I perched on especially once everything was closed in the airport. There were no passengers around from about midnight to 3am but there were construction workers making noise until about 1am. Somehow I did manage to get about three and a half hours sleep on the chairs with my towel on top of me and several layers of clothes.img_20161211_164426

I nearly killed a particular woman at 3.30am, who thought talking in an extremely loud voice would be appropriate while I was trying to sleep. I gave up around 4.30am, where I put my stuff back in my bag and cleaned my teeth. When I got back, my seat had been completely taken. I wandered around the airport again until I was able to check in my baggage.

Then I went through immigration and security easily and with a lot of people around before buying a coffee and croissant from Starbucks. I waited at the gate until I had to board the plane. On the plane, I found my seat and discovered there were television screens. This is a first for a long time. I was meant to sleep as I was exhausted but instead I watched a film, which I had just read the book version. Unfortunately, as the flight was so short, I missed the last 30 minutes so I will have to wait for the ending. Due to the film, the flight went extremely quickly and soon enough I was in Hong Kong.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

One of the most unusual cathedrals I've ever seen. #riodejaneiro #brazil #cathedral #church #iglesia #cross #cruz #southamerica #travelgram #travel #viaje www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Sunset view of Copacabana beach from the Sugarloaf mountain #riodejaneiro #brazil #copacabana #sugarloafmountain #mountain #montana #sunset #paodeacucar #beautifulview #beach #plays www.veggietravellingteacher.com  I actually got to see Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #christ #redeemer #statue #view #bluesky www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The incredible Royal Portuguese Reading Cabinet #riodejaneiro  #brazil #reading #leer #books #libros #library #study #travel #viaje #portuguese #travelgram #spectacular www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The famous Selaron steps in Río de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #colours #colores #bright #steps #stairs #selaronescadaria #selaronsteps #southamerica #travel #backpacker www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Natural mud bath on the beach in Paraty #paraty #brazil #beach #playa #mud #bath #mountains #montana
