Ubud, Bali: monkeys, rice terraces and Balinese Temples

IMG_20151116_121225Ubud was just amazing. This has got to be one of my favourite places of my trip. The culture, views, people, food, atmosphere, architecture was just incredible.IMG_20151116_103131

After getting lost with the one way roads in Ubud, I found my hostel, which was just lovely. The hostel I stayed in was off the main road into rural area. It had rooms with wooden, triple bunk beds. There was a several pools and a view to die for. It was heaven.IMG_20151116_121531

While relaxing by the pool, I met several travellers. I decided to meet a girl I had met in Vietnam with a guy from the hostel where we had dinner at a restaurant of more Balinese food. Then we went to bar and enjoyed a cold beer.

The following day was a fun-filled, packed day where I explored Ubud by motorbike with the guy from the hostel. IMG_20151116_145911

The first place, we went to was the monkey forest, which is a famous place to go in Ubud but I was slightly scared to go as I have a fear of monkeys biting. I faced my fear and walked around the forest literally filled with so many monkeys, walking, climbing and jumping around. I just kept my distant. There were different type of monkeys with babies. The area had tall tree, a temple, stone structures, bridges and a river. It was just a completely different type of place i had been before.IMG_20151116_151135

After we grabbed a coffee at a cafe before driving to the main town to  find Campuhan Ridge walk, which wasn’t easy to find. However, the walk was spectacular with great views of Ubud landscape and natural hills.

Next we drove to the hot spring water Temple,IMG_20151117_133021 where a guy showed us the correct direction but tried to convince us that we needed to pay parking which was untrue. The temple had a hot spring, where you could bath but we had to make sure we had our legs covered with a sarong. The temple grounds were beautiful with buildings and a lake with loads of large goldfish. Driving through the windy road in the countryside was definitely one of my favourite things. i just can’t put into words how amazing the view was.IMG_20151117_130611

On the way back, we got slightly lost but we managed to find our hostel. Then we relaxed by the pool with a beer. In the evening, we ate at a vegan restaurant, which was expensive for Bali and had a few drinks at a bar with a live band.IMG_20151117_133924

The following day in Ubud, I was meant to visit some more places with the guy but unfortunately on the way, he skidded off his motorbike. As it made such a loud noise, several people came out their houses to help. A family helped him by cleaning his wounds and picking up his bike. His scratches and cut which made me feel a bit nauseous. They were so lovely and drove him to a private clinic, where I followed. He hadn’t broken anything, just multiple scratches. He decided he needed to rest at the hostel.IMG_20151117_133956

As it was my last day in Ubud, I explored some more. I motorbiked around the countryside, where I saw a sign which said free tasting so I thought I would investigate. Inside, a lovely, chatty Balinese girl gave me a tour of the tea and coffee farm, telling me about the famous Luwak Coffee. There were luwak animals in cages; they were so cute. IMG_20151117_144416The animals partly
digest the coffee cherries and defecate them, where they are then dried. As part of the tour, they offer ten different coffees and teas, which was just amazing.

I then drove to the breath-taking Tegalalang Rice Terrace, which was just at the side of the road. There were many poor children trying to sell postcards for ‘school fees’.IMG_20151117_145506

After, I drove back to the main road in Ubud to go to a small food place which I got recommended the day before with traditional Balinese food for dirt cheap. The I walked along visiting  Sarawati Temple with a beautiful lotus pond and Ubud palace. It was just so picturesque. Then I went back to the hostel to collect my bag before driving to the next place.My own time in Ubud was just so good. It is a place I want to return to as I missed out on doing yoga and estatic dancing.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

One of the most unusual cathedrals I've ever seen. #riodejaneiro #brazil #cathedral #church #iglesia #cross #cruz #southamerica #travelgram #travel #viaje www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Sunset view of Copacabana beach from the Sugarloaf mountain #riodejaneiro #brazil #copacabana #sugarloafmountain #mountain #montana #sunset #paodeacucar #beautifulview #beach #plays www.veggietravellingteacher.com  I actually got to see Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #christ #redeemer #statue #view #bluesky www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The incredible Royal Portuguese Reading Cabinet #riodejaneiro  #brazil #reading #leer #books #libros #library #study #travel #viaje #portuguese #travelgram #spectacular www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The famous Selaron steps in Río de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #colours #colores #bright #steps #stairs #selaronescadaria #selaronsteps #southamerica #travel #backpacker www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Natural mud bath on the beach in Paraty #paraty #brazil #beach #playa #mud #bath #mountains #montana
