First few days in Bangkok…

After a long time travelling on a couple of planes, I have arrived in Bangkok. I was a little scared I wouldn’t get picked up for the airport by a driver. As I walked with my rucksack, I was searching for that piece of paper, ‘Xplore Asia’ and my name. It was there. He didn’t speak much English. He just placed me on a seat and told me to wait. I waited. What was going on? Has he disappeared? One and half hours later, he reappeared with an a guy from Texas. Relieve filled me.

Once I had got to the hotel, I found out I was sharing a room with a girl from New Zealand. As it was late, I found a restaurant  as I was starving with the guy from the airport. Sitting outside in the hot, humid weather with delicious food in front of me, I realised I was in Thailand. I’m actually here and will be here for at least six months. Seems a bit crazy but this is the life I’m leading.

Even though the time difference is seven hours, I managed to fall straight to sleep that night. It was bliss.

Next morning, I started meeting the teachers on the same programme as me over breakfast. Majority of them were from the USA. I guess, these are going to be my friends at least for the next week. Between us, we wanted to do different things so we split up into two groups: one going to the Grand Palace and the other walking around the weekend market. I joined the latter group.IMG_2584

Once we had taken the BTS,  the market was in our face, full of hustle and bustle. There were narrow rows of walkways with stall and shops, which were divided into different sections. While wandering around, we soon discovered that this market sold everything. Literally everything. Round every corner, there was a new discovery. There were things like fluffy dogs in cages, different types of food, watches, clothes, endangered animals. It was all there. The deeper we went in, I felt like this is not going to end. Would I even find my way out? It was just such a manic place but I love the feel of wandering around a market. IMG_2578

It was hard to see that a man with no leg in dirty clothes crawling along the food, begging for money. This is Bangkok.

In the evening, a group of us went out for a girls birthday to a rooftop bar. The view was spectacular. No photo would ever mimic the incredible sight. Bangkok is so huge. Miles and miles of skyscrapers, dazzling lights and traffic. Crazy traffic.

Sunday was the day of relaxation along Khao san road, which is a famous road in Bangkok known for being touristy. Clothes stalls on both sides of the road in front of rows massage parlours, travel agents, restaurants and men shouting Ping Pong.

After enjoying a delicious Thai meal, glass noodles and prawn in cased in egg, we did the thing I’ve been wanting to do since I booked this trip. Back, neck and shoulder massage. It was incredible. Lying on a thin mattress while some rubs massages body. The funny thing is that they start by washing your feet. When we walked down the stairs, the fishy feet pedicure was staring at us. Yes we did. Drowning my feet in the tank of water was just amazing. The fish swim around nibbling at your dry skin. I had so much that they were masses of them kissing my feet and legs. IMG_2623

When we were done with relaxing, we travelled on a boat down the lake, where the skies opened momentarily. By the time we arrived at our hotel, we headed to the rooftop pool to relax a little longer before having our first Xplore Asia meeting, where we discovered all the members of our time.IMG_2586

Bangkok was beautiful but I’m sure I’ll be back soon.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

Escape and breath the air of new places.
www.veggietravellingteacher.com 
#kingscanyon #australia #nature #redcentre #escape #quote #backpacking #peaceful #sunrise #fresh Sunset views like this literally take my breath away.
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#lasnubes #jerico #antioquia #colombia #sunset #hike #travel #viajar #weekendtrip #green #montaña #mountains I could just sit and admire this view for hours
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#queenstown #newzealand #lake #bluesky #beautifulview #travel #travelgram #backpacking #mountains #montaña #1yearago Last night's sunset with a view!
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#jerico #antioquia #colombia #southamerica #view #landscape #paisaje #travel #travelgram #weekendtrip #findesemana #mountains #montaña A beautiful slow boat ride on the Mekong river from Chiang Rai to Luang Prabang. Want to know more? Read at: www.veggietravellingteacher.com 
#mekong #chiangrai #luangprabang #thailand #laos #slowboat #river #rio #landscapes #paisaje #travel #viajar #travelgram #mountains #montaña #backpacker #2yearsago www.veggietravellingteacher.com
Who doesn't love escaping the city to a quiet pueblo at the weekend? @lascometashostel
#jerico #antioquia #colombia #weekend #findesemana #travel #viajar #escape #village #pueblo #city #cuidad #colorful #peaceful #tranquila
