Journey with God

2015/01/img_1093-1.jpg

We all have it, you know? Untapped potential, that is. We all have the ability to do something that goes far beyond what we believe we have the capacity to accomplish. Our Creator placed it there. Potential is having or showing the capacity to develop into something in the future, latent qualities or abilities that may be developed for future successes or usefulness.

What is funny is that most of us believe in the concept of potential. We can even recognize it in others. But we have a difficult time seeing or believing in our own potential.

So how do we unlock our own latent qualities or abilities and develop them for future success or usefulness? I believe there are three steps we can take to unlock untapped potential in our lives.

– Recognise Opportunities that Are in Front of You
– Release False Beliefs
– Realise Your Future Is in the Hands of God
You have incredible God-given potential. It’s there, just waiting to be discovered by you and those around you.

*Today’s devotional written by: Alli Worthington, COO Propel Women.

As I was reading this daily Christine Caine devotion today, I’ve realised how much I have changed since having a relationship with God.

I was brought up in a Christian household, attended church weekly, went to yearly Christian camps but never really fully committed my life to God. I would do what I wanted to do, when I wanted to do it: basically living the drink, sex, rock & roll lifestyle to fit in with friends. When I went to university, it magnified: drinking, partying, screwing up friendships on a daily basis while studying a little. I was a mess.

At the ended of my first year, I was invite to go to Spain on a mission trip (at the time I didn’t care about the ‘mission’ part, just that I’d like to go to Spain for a cheap holiday). In the team, there were two girls in their twenties, who had so much joy, so much life, so much peace and so much love. I wanted this, what they had. My life had gone into a downward spiral and if I carried on it would only get worse. I knew they were like this because of the love and grace of God.

In that week, I committed my life to God and started a relationship with Jesus. This has been the best decision of my life. It has been tough at times but knowing I have Jesus at my side, it makes it a whole lot easier.

I remember my first week back at university after my encounter and I was petrified to tell my friends. They knew what I was like and they liked that person (which was tough for me) but I had changed over the summer. On the Sunday evening, I literally told them ‘I’m going to church, see you later,’ and shut the door, not waiting for their reaction.

Since then, I have only grown in my knowledge and understanding of God, been involved in several churches (due to moving), built incredible friendships and unlocked my potential.

There are so many things I would have not achieved or even done if it was not for God or others around me pushing me. I have accomplished so much in my life already, which I would have not believed I could have done from the small things to the huge achievements.

I totally believe that the three step mentioned in the devotion is key to unlock untapped potential:

Recognise Opportunities that Are in Front of You

I am now constantly looking for opportunities in my life. Whether it’s helping a person in need or supporting friends or being a connect group leader or being involved with outreach, there are always opportunities.

One of the most recent opportunities, which I’m about to embark on, is going to South Africa to lead a team in voluntary work with a Christian organisation. This came about after finding out that I would not be staying in my job so I could have dwelled on this then found another job or look to God, who opened this amazing opportunity.

At the end of your life, will you be thanking God for the opportunities you took or grudging that you didn’t take the opportunities God revealed to you?

Release False Beliefs

We all have false beliefs about ourselves. When I was younger, I was bullied and this destroyed my self-esteem and confidence. I always compared myself to others. I believed that everyone else was prettier than me, had a better life than me, was smarter than me and that I was worth nothing. I thought that no-one would notice if I ended my life, I wasn’t capable of achieving anything and there was no point in life, which is why I just followed what my friends did to fit in. Even when I first became a Christian, I would feel guilty about what I had done in my past and not forgiven myself.

However, through my journey in God, he has made me realise that he has plans for me, with him I can do anything, he is my security and my anchor and he has poured his love and grace over me, where he has forgotten my past and all my wrongs. I now have self- belief, self-worth and confidence. A few years ago, I couldn’t even talk in a group and I have now been a leader and done presentations in front of masses of people. Only God could have realised this potential.

Realise Your Future Is in the Hands of God

This is so true. Our lives are in the hands of God and he will reveal our future one step at a time. It is a huge adventure fulfilling Gods plan for us. We will still have our ups and downs but be reassured that God will always keep us safe through everything we do.

“For I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future,” declares the Lord.
Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

One of the most unusual cathedrals I've ever seen. #riodejaneiro #brazil #cathedral #church #iglesia #cross #cruz #southamerica #travelgram #travel #viaje www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Sunset view of Copacabana beach from the Sugarloaf mountain #riodejaneiro #brazil #copacabana #sugarloafmountain #mountain #montana #sunset #paodeacucar #beautifulview #beach #plays www.veggietravellingteacher.com  I actually got to see Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #christ #redeemer #statue #view #bluesky www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The incredible Royal Portuguese Reading Cabinet #riodejaneiro  #brazil #reading #leer #books #libros #library #study #travel #viaje #portuguese #travelgram #spectacular www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The famous Selaron steps in Río de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #colours #colores #bright #steps #stairs #selaronescadaria #selaronsteps #southamerica #travel #backpacker www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Natural mud bath on the beach in Paraty #paraty #brazil #beach #playa #mud #bath #mountains #montana
