Barcelona: raining in Park Guell

Monday 15th

Today was my last day in Barcelona before heading home. Even though I completely packed in my days, there were still many thing I didn’t do. I will miss this beautiful city full of incredible artitecture… I’ve never explored a place like it.

When I woke up today, the heavens had opened and it was chucking it down with rain but I was determined for this to not stop my plans.

After I checked out, I walked for about an hour or so to my destination. I have to admit, I looked like a drowned rat and I was shivering. All my clothes were soaked. Marching up a slight hill onto a moving escalator, I eventually reached Park Guell. I didn’t feel it was worth paying to go in because i was sneaky and went round the back where you could see the whole building and the inside. I wandered around part of the ground but due to the weather, I didn’t explore all of it. There were historic ruins you could walk through.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/e81/56960651/files/2014/12/img_4272.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/e81/56960651/files/2014/12/img_4418.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/e81/56960651/files/2014/12/img_4532.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/e81/56960651/files/2014/12/img_4546.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/e81/56960651/files/2014/12/img_4615.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/e81/56960651/files/2014/12/img_4461.jpg

On the way back to the hostel to get changed, I stopped off at McDonalds. What I love about going to McDonald in different counties is that they do different food reflecting their culture. In this one, I had a traditional tapas of tomato and oil on toasted ciabatta with a coffee.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/e81/56960651/files/2014/12/img_4454.jpg

During the rest of the afternoon, I walked back to the hostel to warm up, ate a bit of lunch and watched a film.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/e81/56960651/files/2014/12/img_4473.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/e81/56960651/files/2014/12/img_4476.jpg

I wanted to go inside the cathedral, which was free after 5, so I headed there with one of the girls in my room. The cathedral looked amazing inside.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/e81/56960651/files/2014/12/img_4594.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/e81/56960651/files/2014/12/img_4589.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/e81/56960651/files/2014/12/img_4563.jpg

Once I got back to the hostel, I collected my bag and departed for home. I found that in the airport, they reveal the gate number 10 minutes before boarding, which meant I arrived extremely early. However, I wanted to make sure I didn’t miss my flight as I didn’t know the times of the train. In the airport, I just chilled in Burger King. The flight wasn’t that long but it was a late departure time so got back pass 1 in the morning.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Sunset view of Copacabana beach from the Sugarloaf mountain #riodejaneiro #brazil #copacabana #sugarloafmountain #mountain #montana #sunset #paodeacucar #beautifulview #beach #plays www.veggietravellingteacher.com  I actually got to see Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #christ #redeemer #statue #view #bluesky www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The incredible Royal Portuguese Reading Cabinet #riodejaneiro  #brazil #reading #leer #books #libros #library #study #travel #viaje #portuguese #travelgram #spectacular www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The famous Selaron steps in Río de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #colours #colores #bright #steps #stairs #selaronescadaria #selaronsteps #southamerica #travel #backpacker www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Natural mud bath on the beach in Paraty #paraty #brazil #beach #playa #mud #bath #mountains #montana www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Inside Paraty's beautiful church #paraty #brazil #church #altar #beautiful
