Zimbabwe: what I will miss

IMG_3619.JPG

I have just arrived back in England. My eyes feel with tears but also joy in my heart. I was only in Zimbabwe for two week but it feels like long.

From the time we arrived in Zimbabwe, everyone was so friendly and welcoming. They all feel like family, caring and loving us, having a laugh with us. Even the people I met on the course or at church or in the school will always have a place in my heart.

Teaching at the Paraclete Presbyterian College was an amazing experience; having no resources and a black board. All the children wanted to learn, were focused, and it was great getting to know them in the short time I was there.

Zimbabwe is about singing and dancing to escape some of the living conditions. I loved that they harmonised with each other using no instruments and the crazy dancing. Just so talented.

The people I met were generally so happy and they were in community with each other even though a lot of them were in poverty. Some were living in a small one bedroom place, where 6 people had to sleep. They ate the same food every day and could afford to go into a supermarket so they had to grow their food.

I will miss the amazing hot and dry weather, walking around in t-shirt, shorts and sandals. Everyday the sun was out, giving blazing heat. The sunrises and sunsets were one of the most beautiful, I have beer seen.

I even got used to the lack of electricity, water and internet. It’s not there, let do something else.

This is my prayer for you:
‘Every time I think of you, I give thanks to my God. Whenever I pray, I make my requests for all of you with joy, for you have been my partners in spreading the Good News about Christ from the time you first heard it until now. And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns.

So it is right that I should feel as I do about all of you, for you have a special place in my heart. You share with me the special favor of God, both in my imprisonment and in defending and confirming the truth of the Good News. God knows how much I love you and long for you with the tender compassion of Christ Jesus.

I pray that your love will overflow more and more, and that you will keep on growing in knowledge and understanding. For I want you to understand what really matters, so that you may live pure and blameless lives until the day of Christ’s return. May you always be filled with the fruit of your salvation—the righteous character produced in your life by Jesus Christ—for this will bring much glory and praise to God.’
Philippians 1:3-11 (NLT)

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

One of the most unusual cathedrals I've ever seen. #riodejaneiro #brazil #cathedral #church #iglesia #cross #cruz #southamerica #travelgram #travel #viaje www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Sunset view of Copacabana beach from the Sugarloaf mountain #riodejaneiro #brazil #copacabana #sugarloafmountain #mountain #montana #sunset #paodeacucar #beautifulview #beach #plays www.veggietravellingteacher.com  I actually got to see Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #christ #redeemer #statue #view #bluesky www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The incredible Royal Portuguese Reading Cabinet #riodejaneiro  #brazil #reading #leer #books #libros #library #study #travel #viaje #portuguese #travelgram #spectacular www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The famous Selaron steps in Río de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #colours #colores #bright #steps #stairs #selaronescadaria #selaronsteps #southamerica #travel #backpacker www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Natural mud bath on the beach in Paraty #paraty #brazil #beach #playa #mud #bath #mountains #montana
