Zimbabwe: teaching a-levels and the woman association

(Thursday) This morning, I had to get up early to teach an A-Level class at 7.30. I was going to teach Maths, which I don’t mind as it is a favourite of mine. But what scared me was the fact that it was A Levels, I am not qualified for this and I haven’t learnt advanced Maths in several year. I always like a challenge though. Luckily, I got the text book the night before so I know what I was teaching: something about radius. When i went to the staffroom (a shed), the teacher of the class hadn’t arrived but another teacher took me to the class to start anyway. There were only 4 students, which meant we could have some good discussion and I knew that each of them understood what I was teaching.

After breakfast, we all congregated in the hall for devotions, continuing with the fruit of the spirits.

Next, I was back into an A Level class to teach Business Studies, which I am comfortable with as I did a degree in this. I forgot how much I enjoyed the subject and all my knowledge came flooding back. I was teaching a new topic to the class: Marketing. The teacher wanted me to do this class as he was not confident about teaching it, mainly because he didn’t understand the concept clearly. I can understand this as Zimbabwe doesn’t really do marketing with the lack of money and businesses. It was a discussion based class, which was great.

Once this class was finished, I had a break. Our team got tea bags, hot water and milk so we could make our own cup of tea, whereas the people that attended the course got a ready made tea, consisting of tea, hot water, lots of milk and sugar as well as a snack of bread and butter.

The health group came back together and I taught them more about different diseases. While teaching these, I learnt a lot myself.

IMG_3872.JPG

After a teacher wanted me to teach his Form 2 Maths lesson on quadratic equation, which I hadn’t done in aged. I found it slightly harder teaching the younger one as there English wasn’t so good and they were not willing to share with the class. The teacher was just sitting at the back watching me. Most of the children understood but it was hard when they are all different abilities.

Before I could do anything else, I was taken to Form 4a to teach them some English grammar – sentence construction: simple, compound and complex. I have done this lesson plenty of times in an English primary school. I found though the pupils in Zimbabwe understood it a lot quicker. At the end of the lesson, the teacher wrote the sentences on the board, which I was grateful for as I was slightly struggling writing with chalk.

After lunch, we drive to the Woman’s Association at the Presbyterian Church. This was a great opportunity for all the women to get together, learn from the bible, pray together and worship God. All the women were wearing a uniform: blue skirt, white blouse with the logo and a hat. Apparently, they love it and feel that they belong to something. I found out later that many women in the township go to different Woman’s association and they all have their own uniform. In the meeting, we introduced ourselves and did a short talk. Before and after this, the women sang and danced. They just looked like they were totally enjoying themselves and not thinking about their situations at home.

IMG_3884.JPG

IMG_3903.JPG

When we got back, we had dinner then rushed to the prayer ministry course. At the end of the meeting, certificate were given out to all those who attended. The smiles on their faces just filled me with glee. They were so thankful,and grateful.

IMG_3911.JPG

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. FRANCIS PAMBAYIH
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 20:22:20

    want to coach netbll can you help

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Sunset view of Copacabana beach from the Sugarloaf mountain #riodejaneiro #brazil #copacabana #sugarloafmountain #mountain #montana #sunset #paodeacucar #beautifulview #beach #plays www.veggietravellingteacher.com  I actually got to see Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #christ #redeemer #statue #view #bluesky www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The incredible Royal Portuguese Reading Cabinet #riodejaneiro  #brazil #reading #leer #books #libros #library #study #travel #viaje #portuguese #travelgram #spectacular www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The famous Selaron steps in Río de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #colours #colores #bright #steps #stairs #selaronescadaria #selaronsteps #southamerica #travel #backpacker www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Natural mud bath on the beach in Paraty #paraty #brazil #beach #playa #mud #bath #mountains #montana www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Inside Paraty's beautiful church #paraty #brazil #church #altar #beautiful
