Zimbabwe: fullfilling our mission

When I woke this morning, the school children were already filling the premises. This was at 7am.

After the normal routines, the whole team filled into the hall along with many church member from the community. We started with a welcome and everyone sang a song in Shona that we clapped to.

Before coming on this trip, some of us prepared devotions about the fruit of the spirits. I had love. As the first fruit that Paul spoke about in the bible was love, guess what? I had to do mine first. With being first you set the standards, I had no idea what others had prepared so I was a little worried if mine was different. But then it’s all individual. My voice shaking, I started. I know I’m a teacher but I find it nerve racking standing in front of adults. I had to remember to break after a sentence for it to be interpret. It went well.

IMG_2322.JPG

Then we split up into our different course. Over the week, we were delivering 3 different courses:
– Bible study on James
– repairs and maintenance guide
– Health and hygiene course

I was involved with the latter. I offered to help assist as I didn’t know too much. However, this didn’t quite happen. We split up in two groups with eight women in each. The nurse and two other went with one group and myself and another went together (who also wanted to assist). We got given the resources: Tuberculoses – what is it? The symptoms, treatment cure etc. At the beginning I did my normal teacher question ‘What do you already know?’ and at the end I put them in partners to discuss what they have learnt. Once we had finishing teaching about TB, we had a break and then delivered a session on first aid for both groups. Throughout the morning, the women were extremely attentive, asked questions and seemed to be appreciative of what we were doing.

IMG_2326.JPG

After dismissing them, we met with all the teaching staff, where we all introduced ourselves, explaining our education backgrounds. Quite a few teachers did not have degrees, which was interesting but they spoke amazing English. We discussed with them some of the things we wanted to do:
– Observe, assist and teach in class
– Do study sessions after school
– Deliver assemblies
– Do sport/ football coaching after school
– Links with a local school in England

They seemed to be willing but they wanted to discuss it together so we will see tomorrow.

After, I was speaking to one of the newest teachers, Joy, about teaching in Zimbabwe and the differences. It was interesting to hear that there are still teenage girls who just want to have children and not motivated to study even though they have to pay. She suggested that I join in with the Netball club and choir over the next week.

Once we had had lunch, someone suggested to get the loom bands out to teach other. First I was showing a little girl aged 7, with two A level students sorted of watched. I asked them if they wanted to make a bracelet so joined in. Slowly, other pupils emerged around us and in the end there was a big group all making loom bands. They loved it. Even the boys joined in.

IMG_2239-0.JPG

In the evening, I was going to assist with tuition in computing but unfortunately the guy didn’t turn up. Instead, I help to fix the computers – downloading new anti-virus software and deleting the old, useless one. However, the electricity went off so the computer shut down and when I was looking for it, it had disappeared. Not sure where it had gone.

We played scrabble afterward with one of the guys getting this word:

IMG_2235-0.JPG

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Sunset view of Copacabana beach from the Sugarloaf mountain #riodejaneiro #brazil #copacabana #sugarloafmountain #mountain #montana #sunset #paodeacucar #beautifulview #beach #plays www.veggietravellingteacher.com  I actually got to see Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #christ #redeemer #statue #view #bluesky www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The incredible Royal Portuguese Reading Cabinet #riodejaneiro  #brazil #reading #leer #books #libros #library #study #travel #viaje #portuguese #travelgram #spectacular www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The famous Selaron steps in Río de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #colours #colores #bright #steps #stairs #selaronescadaria #selaronsteps #southamerica #travel #backpacker www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Natural mud bath on the beach in Paraty #paraty #brazil #beach #playa #mud #bath #mountains #montana www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Inside Paraty's beautiful church #paraty #brazil #church #altar #beautiful
