Zimbabwe Mission Trip: departing

After all the planning and preparation, this trip has suddenly arrived: I leave tomorrow.

There are 11 of us: all ages (I’m not the youngest for once), males and females with different expectations, experiences and skills. We are going with a charity called Paraclete and will be based at Kuwadzana training centre, a high density urban suburb of Harare, Zimbabwe. We will be working alongside the church as well as providing 3 courses for the locals, getting involved with the secondary school and organising after school clubs.

I have been lucky enough to have done mission trips with them before and I know the majority of people I am going with. Even though, I haven’t been to Africa before, I am feeling excited about what God has planned for us out there and know that we have a strong team.

I am pretty much packed and ready to go (most of my clothes have come back from my last trip, gone through the washing machine then straight into my luggage). I’m not however looking forward to carry all our luggage: 2 23kg bags, a laptop bag and our hand luggage. Yes, that’s each of us. One and a half bags are full of gifts, prizes, resources, food and other things that they have requested, which means on the way back, we will have extremely light bags.

It has been great being back in England for 10 days but I have to go again.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

One of the most unusual cathedrals I've ever seen. #riodejaneiro #brazil #cathedral #church #iglesia #cross #cruz #southamerica #travelgram #travel #viaje www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Sunset view of Copacabana beach from the Sugarloaf mountain #riodejaneiro #brazil #copacabana #sugarloafmountain #mountain #montana #sunset #paodeacucar #beautifulview #beach #plays www.veggietravellingteacher.com  I actually got to see Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #christ #redeemer #statue #view #bluesky www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The incredible Royal Portuguese Reading Cabinet #riodejaneiro  #brazil #reading #leer #books #libros #library #study #travel #viaje #portuguese #travelgram #spectacular www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The famous Selaron steps in Río de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #colours #colores #bright #steps #stairs #selaronescadaria #selaronsteps #southamerica #travel #backpacker www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Natural mud bath on the beach in Paraty #paraty #brazil #beach #playa #mud #bath #mountains #montana
