Kyoto: manga, Nanzeji and one long drive

I forgot that we were checking out, which meant we had to be out by 11. That doesn’t seem early. It’s not. But when you got into bed at 6.30, that is not much sleep.

Jumping out of bed, I quickly sorted myself out and fling out the room. We decided to have a take it easy day. First, we staggered to the international manga museum, which is the only one in Japan so we were in for a treat. However, I was slightly disappointed. I suppose I didn’t know what to expect. Basically, majority of the museum consisted of shelves of manga book aimed for different reader with a cosy space to read them. This was fine but unexpected and difficult for me to read as I can’t read Japanese.

There was one exhibition room, which looked incredible. The whole room was covered in manga sheets with a clear protector over the top. This exhibition was about one guys work. It showed different drawings and sketches. I think what I was looking for in this museum was more about the history, different styles of manga, more sketches, influences and artist’s work.

IMG_1750.JPG

After we wandered to the river, where we had a lie down in the sun, listening to the sound of a waterfall and watching long necked birds sipping the water.

IMG_1768.JPG

Once we had had a short nap, we strolled passed the zoo and passed several temples to Nanzenji, which we decided not to go in.

IMG_3255.JPG

Nearby there was a bridge, which was picturesque.


IMG_1758.JPG

IMG_1754.JPG

Trying to find the philosophy’s path, which was described as a beautiful walkway in my tourist guide, we failed.

Heading back to the hotel, along the way, we staggered in several shops and grabbed some food.

Early evening, we bundled into the car to get ready for a long drive a head of us. Luckily, I was on the 4am shift, which meant I could snuggle in the back with my sleeping bag to snooze. However, I didn’t get much shut eye so was tired by the time I was behind the wheel.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

One of the most unusual cathedrals I've ever seen. #riodejaneiro #brazil #cathedral #church #iglesia #cross #cruz #southamerica #travelgram #travel #viaje www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Sunset view of Copacabana beach from the Sugarloaf mountain #riodejaneiro #brazil #copacabana #sugarloafmountain #mountain #montana #sunset #paodeacucar #beautifulview #beach #plays www.veggietravellingteacher.com  I actually got to see Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #christ #redeemer #statue #view #bluesky www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The incredible Royal Portuguese Reading Cabinet #riodejaneiro  #brazil #reading #leer #books #libros #library #study #travel #viaje #portuguese #travelgram #spectacular www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The famous Selaron steps in Río de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #colours #colores #bright #steps #stairs #selaronescadaria #selaronsteps #southamerica #travel #backpacker www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Natural mud bath on the beach in Paraty #paraty #brazil #beach #playa #mud #bath #mountains #montana
