Last days of term

20140805-091916 am-33556643.jpg

The last days of term now seem like a distant blur.

Thinking about these days now, I feel a great sense of achievement but also sadness. This year:
– I had a year 5 class for the school whole year
– I was the year group leader (not out if choice but because the school has on class per year)
– I did all the planning for every subject
– I organised several school trips
– The children in my class made great progress
– Behaviour improved
– I (somehow) dealt with awkward parents
– I completed my NQT year
– I convinced the head to get iPads for every teacher
– I build great relationship with the children in my class.

During the last few days:
– The children finished their African moving toys and topic books
– We had Aldrington’s got talent
– The final school production of ‘Move it’
– I managed to destroy all displays so it looked bare
– I sorted out my cupboard
– Move around furniture
– Update any levels on the system

On the last day, the children got ready all their books they needed to take home. During the leavers assembly, I was filled with emotions while we waved farewell to the Year 6s, two children in my class plus myself. Standing in front of the whole school, isn’t my favourite thing to do but managed to answer a few questions about my year. I also received some beautiful flowers and yen for my trip.

In the afternoon, the year 6s ran around getting their shirts signed. I opened the lovely presents from my class and we ended the day with a party, full of unhealthy snacks and smoothies and party games.

As I was taking the class to the playground to meet parents, it felt surreal. I couldn’t believe this was the last time, I was going to take them. I will properly won’t interact with these children again in the same way, teaching and building relationships with them. It has been an interesting year, full of characters and fantastic children.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

Sunset views like this literally take my breath away.
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#lasnubes #jerico #antioquia #colombia #sunset #hike #travel #viajar #weekendtrip #green #montaña #mountains I could just sit and admire this view for hours
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#queenstown #newzealand #lake #bluesky #beautifulview #travel #travelgram #backpacking #mountains #montaña #1yearago Last night's sunset with a view!
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#jerico #antioquia #colombia #southamerica #view #landscape #paisaje #travel #travelgram #weekendtrip #findesemana #mountains #montaña A beautiful slow boat ride on the Mekong river from Chiang Rai to Luang Prabang. Want to know more? Read at: www.veggietravellingteacher.com 
#mekong #chiangrai #luangprabang #thailand #laos #slowboat #river #rio #landscapes #paisaje #travel #viajar #travelgram #mountains #montaña #backpacker #2yearsago www.veggietravellingteacher.com
Who doesn't love escaping the city to a quiet pueblo at the weekend? @lascometashostel
#jerico #antioquia #colombia #weekend #findesemana #travel #viajar #escape #village #pueblo #city #cuidad #colorful #peaceful #tranquila www.veggietravellingteacher.com
This spectacular white temple is well worth a visit. Have you ever seen anything so majestic?
#changrai #thailand #asia #whitetemple #travel #architecture #beautiful #travelgram #backpacking #2yearsago #thai
