Rock climbing trip

I wanted to go out of school with a bang and something I could do with the kids that I know that they would absolutely adored.

After some consideration, I decided to either do an active activity or go to a safari park as part of our topic. I was aware that parents were currently paying for a residential trip that they children were going on in September so I knew that the trip couldn’t be too pricey.

I rang around some local activity centres to find out the variety of options. When I talked to high sports, I was amazed that they were offering a free session for school children to promote their rock climbing wall before the summer holiday began. I immediately booked a space.

Thinking through the travel options, the cheapest and easiest one was to walk: there was no direct bus or train and was it worth getting a coach. I knew it was take approximately half an hour going up hill then dramatic down. I thought it would be nice to have lunch in the park on the way, which was what we did.

After little moans and groans about the walk, my year 5s arrived excitedly at the centre. As we entered with the children looking up in amazement, there were huge walls, full of ropes hanging and stepping stones screwed to the wall.

My class were split into two groups: one getting harnesses on and rock climbing to the top of the wall then abseiling down; another group playing a variety of games on the bouldering wall (lower wall where you climbing around without wearing any safety equipment.

I even managed to get a go on the climbing wall as the children and parent helper we’re encouraging me (not that I needed it: I love doing active sports).

One child asked “Will we be doing any writing about this trip?”.
“No,”
“This is the best trip ever!”

The children absolutely loved the climbing wall and had many of them thank me personally (for these reasons, I love teaching).

20140710-075854 am-28734462.jpg

Rock climbing wall

20140710-075855 am-28735356.jpg

Bouldering wall

20140710-075856 am-28736113.jpg

Me rock climbing

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

Escape and breath the air of new places.
www.veggietravellingteacher.com 
#kingscanyon #australia #nature #redcentre #escape #quote #backpacking #peaceful #sunrise #fresh Sunset views like this literally take my breath away.
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#lasnubes #jerico #antioquia #colombia #sunset #hike #travel #viajar #weekendtrip #green #montaña #mountains I could just sit and admire this view for hours
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#queenstown #newzealand #lake #bluesky #beautifulview #travel #travelgram #backpacking #mountains #montaña #1yearago Last night's sunset with a view!
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#jerico #antioquia #colombia #southamerica #view #landscape #paisaje #travel #travelgram #weekendtrip #findesemana #mountains #montaña A beautiful slow boat ride on the Mekong river from Chiang Rai to Luang Prabang. Want to know more? Read at: www.veggietravellingteacher.com 
#mekong #chiangrai #luangprabang #thailand #laos #slowboat #river #rio #landscapes #paisaje #travel #viajar #travelgram #mountains #montaña #backpacker #2yearsago www.veggietravellingteacher.com
Who doesn't love escaping the city to a quiet pueblo at the weekend? @lascometashostel
#jerico #antioquia #colombia #weekend #findesemana #travel #viajar #escape #village #pueblo #city #cuidad #colorful #peaceful #tranquila
