Part 2: Faith through Art week

Looking back on Faith in Art week, it was amazing to see the children reflect, explore and question what they believe.

Another activity my class did was that they were given a picture of the journey of life and had to discuss:
– what they thought the picture was
– what each part represent or symbolised and why
– which shop they would go in and why (dreams, hope, joy, wealth)
– what advice would they give others about life
– which direction they would want to go round the map

This was interesting to see how the children would interpret this map as well as reflect on their life and open up to each other.

20140708-093012 pm-77412270.jpg

During the week each class had to decorate two wooden crosses based on the ‘I AM’ statements in the bible, which would later be hung in each classroom:
– John 6:51:”I am the living bread which came down from heaven. If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever;”
– John 8:23: And He said to them, “You are from beneath; I AM from above. You are of this world; I am not of this world.
– John 8:12: Then Jesus spoke to them again, saying, “I AM the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.”
– John 8:58 Jesus said to them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I AM.”
– John 10:9: “I AM the door. If anyone enters by Me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture.”
– John 10:11: “I AM the good shepherd. The good shepherd gives His life for the sheep.
– John 10:36: “do you say of Him whom the Father sanctified and sent into the world, ‘You are blaspheming,’ because I said, ‘I am the Son of God’?
– John 11:25: Jesus said to her, “I AM the resurrection and the life. He who believes in Me, though he may die, he shall live.
– John 14:6: Jesus said to him, “I AM the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.
– John 15:1: “I AM the true vine, and My Father is the vinedresser.
– John 19:2: Therefore the chief priests of the Jews said to Pilate, “Do not write, ‘The King of the Jews,’ but, ‘He said, “I am the King of the Jews.”‘”
– Acts 7:32: Stephen speaking of Moses’ encounter at the burning bush “saying, ‘I am the God of your fathers– the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.’ And Moses trembled and dared not look.”
– Acts 9:5: And he said, “Who are You, Lord?” And the Lord said, “I am Jesus, whom you are persecuting. It is hard for you to kick against the goads.”

20140708-093558 pm-77758556.jpg

Year 5 – I am from above

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

Every corner you turn in New Zealand, there is a new incredible view 
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#christchurch #newzealand #oneyearago #landscape #paisaje #travel #viajar #travelgram #backpacking #nature #views #lake #mountains Sundays are for relaxing. What did you do today? 
Los domingos son para relajarse. Qué hicieron hoy? 
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#jerico #antioquia #colombia #relaxing #landscape #travelgram #viajar #village #pueblo #paisaje #sunbeds #pool #travel #weekend #findesemana #flores Escape and breath the air of new places.
www.veggietravellingteacher.com 
#kingscanyon #australia #nature #redcentre #escape #quote #backpacking #peaceful #sunrise #fresh Sunset views like this literally take my breath away.
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#lasnubes #jerico #antioquia #colombia #sunset #hike #travel #viajar #weekendtrip #green #montaña #mountains I could just sit and admire this view for hours
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#queenstown #newzealand #lake #bluesky #beautifulview #travel #travelgram #backpacking #mountains #montaña #1yearago Last night's sunset with a view!
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#jerico #antioquia #colombia #southamerica #view #landscape #paisaje #travel #travelgram #weekendtrip #findesemana #mountains #montaña
