Part 1: Faith through Art week

At school in this moment in time, we have a week devoted to ‘Faith through Art’. One thing I absolutely love about my school is the Christian aspect: many teachers have a Christian faith; we can openly share this with the children; we can base assemblies on what we believe.

This week, we have had the opportunity to share and explore our beliefs through art. At the start of the week, I introduced a national art competition called ‘Art in heaven’, where the children have to create a work of art about a particular theme. I decided to choose ‘Worship’: what is worship? Who worships? When and where do people worship? How and why do people worship? I have some fantastic responses where children really thought about their own time of worship and why they worship. Then I gave the class a choice of the type of art work they would like to do: video, PowerPoint, painting, watercolours, song, dance. I had a complete mixture. After, they had to write an explanation of their art work: what they had done? Where their inspiration came from? Why they had done it? How is it linked to worship. I was just mind-blown by some of their description: there were some deep thinkers amongst them.

20140708-093949 pm-77989544.jpg

20140708-093949 pm-77989855.jpg

Another activity (which would improve their presentation skills) was to test out different typography. Before this, we discussed the different ‘I am’ statements that Jesus said in the bible. We explored what they meant and how this can help us in our faith: purpose and giving our life to God. After they created a poster of different ‘I am’ verses on a poster using different fonts.

20140708-094107 pm-78067531.jpg

20140708-094107 pm-78067244.jpg

As well as wanting the children to think about what they believe and where they were on their spiritual journey, I was curious to find out individuals faith. Showing my class the blob tree, they had to decide on their own which blob they were and why about their faith. I gave them several examples including mine, where I was the person who was hanging on to tree as I wanted to do my own thing but also have Gods approval. Recently, I feel like the blob half way up the tree looking happy with life, my surroundings, my future: wanting to understand my beliefs more; letting God take over my path and guiding me through his plans to impact the world around me. I found that many children, who I thought would have a stronger faith, had slightly different perspective on their lives.

20140708-094032 pm-78032208.jpg

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

One of the most unusual cathedrals I've ever seen. #riodejaneiro #brazil #cathedral #church #iglesia #cross #cruz #southamerica #travelgram #travel #viaje www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Sunset view of Copacabana beach from the Sugarloaf mountain #riodejaneiro #brazil #copacabana #sugarloafmountain #mountain #montana #sunset #paodeacucar #beautifulview #beach #plays www.veggietravellingteacher.com  I actually got to see Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #christ #redeemer #statue #view #bluesky www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The incredible Royal Portuguese Reading Cabinet #riodejaneiro  #brazil #reading #leer #books #libros #library #study #travel #viaje #portuguese #travelgram #spectacular www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The famous Selaron steps in Río de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #colours #colores #bright #steps #stairs #selaronescadaria #selaronsteps #southamerica #travel #backpacker www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Natural mud bath on the beach in Paraty #paraty #brazil #beach #playa #mud #bath #mountains #montana
