The joys of tutoring

I have now been tutoring privately for about 4 years focussing mostly on maths for primary school children. At first, I thought it would be a little scary and at the time, I hadn’t even started my teacher training. Initially, I decided to go into tutoring as it would give me experience plus a little extra cash. I have always found it easy to find student: I usually just advertise on the internet.

I have found that tutoring is extremely rewarding: I see the children grow academically as well as maturing.

Over the years, I have tutored many children ranging from age 5-16 for a number of reasons: supporting SEN kids; children who need an extra boost to be in line with the expectation in class or to stretch and extend them.

Currently, I am working with two children: a year 5 girl, whose parent want her to get into grammar school and a year 6 boy, who has specific learning difficulties.

The girl is a lovely, mature, quiet girl, whose first language is not a Englsh. However, her written and oral language is fluent and amazing (you would not know). I have been tutoring her for 2 years, teaching maths, English and science. She is so focused, motivated and hard-working (also, she would be the perfect person in a class). I enjoy working with her: seeing though hard concepts click and just listening carefully. I have build up a great rapport with her, we always chat about her day and she will always tell me exciting things she has done at school. From the moment I starting tutoring her, her family have been so welcoming, generous (they always give me a drink and most of the time give me biscuits or cake or other homemade goodies), and such a down to earth family. I love talking with them about their social life’s and adventures.

Contrastingly, the boy is very bubbly, chatting but also lovely (even though he tells me he gets in trouble regularly at school). I started tutoring him 2 years ago in Maths but stopped last September due to school commitments. Recently, they got in contact again for me to carry on working with him. I agreed. (However, this would have not been beneficial to hi as he would really need some support running up to the SATs not after). When I started work with him, I noticed a difference: one good thing and one bad thing.
Good: he was so much more maturer and focused better.
Bad: most of the work I had done with him previously, had been forgotten (what had school done with him). Before, he could count up and back in 10s, 2s and 5s and complete his timetable he these. He had forgot methods I had taught him (due to his learning difficulty). It felt dis-hearten, like I was starting again. When I stated with him, he was at a reception ability. When I stopped, he was more like a year 3 child. He had made so much progress with me. With him, I have to do a lot of repetition and visual/practical activities for him to learn. But this just makes it fun.

The only thing I find frustrating with tutoring sometimes, is that they may cancel on you at the last minute. I know some other people have a policy where they still have to pay if they cancel. In a way this is good, however, the flexibility means that if you have to cancel for any reason, they can’t be annoyed.

I would recommend tutoring as I have grown as a teacher; seen how I am helping them grow individually and love the rewarding and immense feeling that comes along with it.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

Escape and breath the air of new places.
www.veggietravellingteacher.com 
#kingscanyon #australia #nature #redcentre #escape #quote #backpacking #peaceful #sunrise #fresh Sunset views like this literally take my breath away.
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#lasnubes #jerico #antioquia #colombia #sunset #hike #travel #viajar #weekendtrip #green #montaña #mountains I could just sit and admire this view for hours
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#queenstown #newzealand #lake #bluesky #beautifulview #travel #travelgram #backpacking #mountains #montaña #1yearago Last night's sunset with a view!
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#jerico #antioquia #colombia #southamerica #view #landscape #paisaje #travel #travelgram #weekendtrip #findesemana #mountains #montaña A beautiful slow boat ride on the Mekong river from Chiang Rai to Luang Prabang. Want to know more? Read at: www.veggietravellingteacher.com 
#mekong #chiangrai #luangprabang #thailand #laos #slowboat #river #rio #landscapes #paisaje #travel #viajar #travelgram #mountains #montaña #backpacker #2yearsago www.veggietravellingteacher.com
Who doesn't love escaping the city to a quiet pueblo at the weekend? @lascometashostel
#jerico #antioquia #colombia #weekend #findesemana #travel #viajar #escape #village #pueblo #city #cuidad #colorful #peaceful #tranquila
