Extreme sports day: Quad biking

After a delightful lunch of homemade sweet potato and butternut squash soup, tiger baton, cheese and crisps, our energy was refilled for the busyness of what laid next. Gleaming faces, hearts pumping, feet twitching, I was ready.

Wandering along the grassy hills, we were taken to our first activity: quad biking. From experiencing the thrill of the quad before, I was literally jumping for joy, grabbing a helmet and bouncing onto an empty bike. Turning the engine on, hearing the loud roar and motion of the quad burring, I was ready to control the quad as fast as the bike would take me. A few of us followed an instructor around the bumpy fields and winding through tall trees in the forest, unfortunately I was told ‘Slow down! Wait for the others.’ (This is what happened last time; they can take my speed). I love the thrill of zooming and jumping around. As I was just behind the instructor, I was able to get a descent gap between us to press down hard on the acceleration and fly over the bumps, with my legs leaping into the air.

Later on, with a different instructor, we could drive the speed we wanted, racing each other through the trees, trying to control our bikes at high speeds without crashing. I just beat all of my fellow racer. This was my kind of fun.

When we had finished our turn, I got the opportunity to ride on the back of one of the guys quad bikes. Feeling slightly strange, wrapping my arms around a teenagers waist, we flew off at high speeds across the grass. Flinging me back, with my head nearly touching the floor, the quad was riding on the back two wheels with the others high up in the air ( I was now glad I was holding on, otherwise I would have been lying dead on the floor). Palms starting to sweat, blood quickly flowing around my body, helmet bouncing around, vision blurred… How could anyone not get a thrill from this? Weaving in and out of trees, leaping over humps, gliding down sandy surfaces, mud splattering everywhere, travelling up ramps and the back of lorries, I was having the time of my life. However, this came to an end. Stopping. Silence.

Feeling ecstatic, now waiting for my next activity to start…

20140617-111849 pm-83929100.jpg

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

One of the most unusual cathedrals I've ever seen. #riodejaneiro #brazil #cathedral #church #iglesia #cross #cruz #southamerica #travelgram #travel #viaje www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Sunset view of Copacabana beach from the Sugarloaf mountain #riodejaneiro #brazil #copacabana #sugarloafmountain #mountain #montana #sunset #paodeacucar #beautifulview #beach #plays www.veggietravellingteacher.com  I actually got to see Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #christ #redeemer #statue #view #bluesky www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The incredible Royal Portuguese Reading Cabinet #riodejaneiro  #brazil #reading #leer #books #libros #library #study #travel #viaje #portuguese #travelgram #spectacular www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The famous Selaron steps in Río de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #colours #colores #bright #steps #stairs #selaronescadaria #selaronsteps #southamerica #travel #backpacker www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Natural mud bath on the beach in Paraty #paraty #brazil #beach #playa #mud #bath #mountains #montana
