Talented children

Sometimes even children surprise me. I know that everyone has their talents: some people are gifted in certain aspects; other people are talent in different areas.

At my school, there are a bunch of extremely talented children (even though the school is small): musicians, dancers, artists, mathematicians, runner, footballers. I love seeing children grow in them; become passionate about that area; feeling proud of their achievement; seeing the biggest grin on their faces. When I observe these children, I feel like a parent when their child first walks into school on their own.

It’s that season where school children audition for the main parts; teachers select individuals and the play practises begin. The year 6 teacher and I have chosen to do the end of year play based on a script called ‘Move it’: it is where two dance groups battle against each other to win in a competition. The play consists of modern, upbeat songs; lots of street dance as well as a story about friendship. When we showed the children the script, they got really excited about it.

Quite a few children in year 6 have taken it into their own hands to comprise the dance moves for the main songs. Last week, while learning the songs, we let one of the groups show the dance moves that they have come up with. Oh my goodness! They were amazing. So much better than I would have come up with. They were modern, sleek, in time, professional, diverse. I was gobsmacked. One step at a time, one girl in particular taught the whole group the moves. To my surprise, they were easy to learn, simple moves but looked so smart and profession. These girls are extremely talented.

Also, I was slightly surprised how quickly the rest of the two year groups learned these routine. Even though, I know that my class are very practical, and love a song and dance, I was blown away by the amount of talent. I am such a proud teacher. One thing I like most about doing a school play, is that you see individuals shine that you don’t think will, but also children who are not necessarily academic.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

One of the most unusual cathedrals I've ever seen. #riodejaneiro #brazil #cathedral #church #iglesia #cross #cruz #southamerica #travelgram #travel #viaje www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Sunset view of Copacabana beach from the Sugarloaf mountain #riodejaneiro #brazil #copacabana #sugarloafmountain #mountain #montana #sunset #paodeacucar #beautifulview #beach #plays www.veggietravellingteacher.com  I actually got to see Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #christ #redeemer #statue #view #bluesky www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The incredible Royal Portuguese Reading Cabinet #riodejaneiro  #brazil #reading #leer #books #libros #library #study #travel #viaje #portuguese #travelgram #spectacular www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The famous Selaron steps in Río de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #colours #colores #bright #steps #stairs #selaronescadaria #selaronsteps #southamerica #travel #backpacker www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Natural mud bath on the beach in Paraty #paraty #brazil #beach #playa #mud #bath #mountains #montana
