Bike ride in the pouring rain

If your in England, what else would you expect than it to be chucking it down with rain even in the summer months? Typical English weather.

As I’m trying to be a little fitter for the summer, I decided to ride my bike to a meeting this evening. As you may or may not be aware, I don’t generally enjoy journeying on a pedal bike (It was one of the only sports that my siblings where better than me when I was a child). Some of you may be shocked that I even attempted to get on a bike, let alone ride it. Over a year ago, a friend of mine donated this bike to me and since then, I have ridden it only once.

Anyway, when I was travelling there, it was a sunny yet slightly windy evening so was only wearing a thin summer dress and cardigan. I didn’t even think about the journey back. When I was in my meeting, I noticed that it started to rain heavily which turned into hail. Luckily, as I was leaving in the pitch black, the skies had covered and there was no sign of rain. However, one minute into my journey, it started to rain. Not the light, drizzly rain but the full blown heavy rain. It was like the heavens had opened. While I was pedalling with large puddles beginning to form and water splashing everywhere, my wet-through shoes kept slipping and my cardigan was drowning in water. Most people would probably be annoyed, even frustrated but not me; I felt exhilarated. It was like an adventure. Something I had never done before, which I can now cross of my bucket list.

When I strolled through my front door, water was literally dripping off my soaking wet clothes and my drowned rat hair. Wet footprints trailed behind me on the stairs to my room. I looked like I had just immersed myself in the sea or after taking a shower.

What a ride to have for my first one in a year!

20140604-111212 pm-83532651.jpg

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

Escape and breath the air of new places.
www.veggietravellingteacher.com 
#kingscanyon #australia #nature #redcentre #escape #quote #backpacking #peaceful #sunrise #fresh Sunset views like this literally take my breath away.
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#lasnubes #jerico #antioquia #colombia #sunset #hike #travel #viajar #weekendtrip #green #montaña #mountains I could just sit and admire this view for hours
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#queenstown #newzealand #lake #bluesky #beautifulview #travel #travelgram #backpacking #mountains #montaña #1yearago Last night's sunset with a view!
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#jerico #antioquia #colombia #southamerica #view #landscape #paisaje #travel #travelgram #weekendtrip #findesemana #mountains #montaña A beautiful slow boat ride on the Mekong river from Chiang Rai to Luang Prabang. Want to know more? Read at: www.veggietravellingteacher.com 
#mekong #chiangrai #luangprabang #thailand #laos #slowboat #river #rio #landscapes #paisaje #travel #viajar #travelgram #mountains #montaña #backpacker #2yearsago www.veggietravellingteacher.com
Who doesn't love escaping the city to a quiet pueblo at the weekend? @lascometashostel
#jerico #antioquia #colombia #weekend #findesemana #travel #viajar #escape #village #pueblo #city #cuidad #colorful #peaceful #tranquila
