Portugal vacation (Faro) – Part 1

I have now been back from Portugal for nearly a month but feel like sharing my adventures and experience. To start off, my friends thought I was brave, maybe strange that I had decided to explore Portugal on my own. In fact, it didn’t feel like I was alone at all. Unfortunately, the friend I was planning to go with decided that she couldn’t afford it so I made the decision to go out there by myself.

After a relaxing journey there with some minor delays, I arrived in Portugal late evening. As I was waiting for the bus to transport me to my hostel, there was another girl (Canadian-French) who I ended up chatting to and discovered that she was staying at the same hostel. As soon as I arrived at the hostel, it felt like home: comfortable, relaxing atmosphere, warm and cosy.

I decided to join some fellow hosteller on the balcony for ‘Ring of Fire’, where one of the games was pass the musical instrument. As midnight approached, we had to vacate the beautiful balcony as to not to disturb other people. I met a group of guys, who were studying on an Erasmus programme in Sheffield, but were from many countries around the world, and also a guy and girl studying in Ireland. They were all so easy- going and great to hang out with. Well, that was a fun filled night: we discovered a little bar, where body shots were done, discussions about tattoos and found out about each other. We went to a club, full of English chart music but it was completely empty. As it was two in the morning, you would have thought that a club should be jam packed full of dancers, however, in Portuguese culture they don’t start partying up until three in the morning, leading to them being closed around six. Crazy, I know. After a lot of dancing, we decided to stroll back to our hostel to get a few hours sleep before starting the next day.

Waking up with a headache, in a room full of eleven others was slightly daunting at first, but my temporary room mates were considerate and they were all chilled about the bathroom situation (one bathroom- twelve people). Must say the hostel I stayed in, had a great atmosphere, all facilities that were needed and the staff were so helpful and willing to find out about you.

Over the next few day before departing for Lisbon: I relaxed on the beach, drinking white sangria with a few travellers; enjoyed the nightlife with tequila; wandered around Faro exploring churches, cathedrals, cobbled street, the harbour and the room of skulls. Even though there was not much to do, the sun, hot weather and people were a definitely highlight here.

20140601-231937-83977708.jpg

Me enjoying the beach

20140601-231937-83977517.jpg

Plane food (lovely surprise as I didn’t know I was getting it).

20140601-231938-83978124.jpg

Price of wine (so cheap)

20140601-231938-83978329.jpg

Hostel balcony that filled the night with games and laughter

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Sunset view of Copacabana beach from the Sugarloaf mountain #riodejaneiro #brazil #copacabana #sugarloafmountain #mountain #montana #sunset #paodeacucar #beautifulview #beach #plays www.veggietravellingteacher.com  I actually got to see Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #christ #redeemer #statue #view #bluesky www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The incredible Royal Portuguese Reading Cabinet #riodejaneiro  #brazil #reading #leer #books #libros #library #study #travel #viaje #portuguese #travelgram #spectacular www.veggietravellingteacher.com  The famous Selaron steps in Río de Janeiro #riodejaneiro #brazil #colours #colores #bright #steps #stairs #selaronescadaria #selaronsteps #southamerica #travel #backpacker www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Natural mud bath on the beach in Paraty #paraty #brazil #beach #playa #mud #bath #mountains #montana www.veggietravellingteacher.com  Inside Paraty's beautiful church #paraty #brazil #church #altar #beautiful
