Teaching over the last year

Soooo… This is my first blog that I write on here. At the moment, it is coming to the end of the summer holiday, which I have to say, makes me slightly sad. The time has been so relaxing but also, has gone quick.
As I look over the last year, my life has grown and changed. First of all, this time last year, I would have just finished the PGCE. Even though, I loved it and learnt so much, make some great friends and started my career, it was a tough but relishing year.
I didn’t have a job to go to in September, which at the time scared me but looking over the year, I am not sure I was ready to have my first real class. I decided to start supply work as I wanted to grow as a teacher and get more experiences. That was great, obviously there are pros and cons to this but I loved the fact that I didn’t need to plan, I could just turn up, teach and go home. It was great to teach all ages of Primary school. Through this, it made me realise that Key Stage 2 was my favourite age.
I was so excited when I got a job in January teaching Year 5’s in Worthing. My first proper class. They were challenging at times but in the end, I know I will miss all their individual personalities. I was only meant to be there till the end of the summer but they did offer me a job. Unfortunately, due to certain reasons, I had to turn it away even though I did enjoy working with all the staff there and got used to how it ran.
Now I have an even better job to start in September. It’s like my perfect school, it’s near where I live, it’s a small Christian school where there is a big focus on God. I am just excited but also nervous about starting next week. One week away. It’s my first proper, proper class where I start teaching and setting the expectations at the beginning.
As for right now, I am on holiday in Cornwall with the bestie, enjoying our time together and the beautiful views in little, quaint villages.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow ___ Life as a travelling teacher on WordPress.com

Instagram

Every corner you turn in New Zealand, there is a new incredible view 
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#christchurch #newzealand #oneyearago #landscape #paisaje #travel #viajar #travelgram #backpacking #nature #views #lake #mountains Sundays are for relaxing. What did you do today? 
Los domingos son para relajarse. Qué hicieron hoy? 
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#jerico #antioquia #colombia #relaxing #landscape #travelgram #viajar #village #pueblo #paisaje #sunbeds #pool #travel #weekend #findesemana #flores Escape and breath the air of new places.
www.veggietravellingteacher.com 
#kingscanyon #australia #nature #redcentre #escape #quote #backpacking #peaceful #sunrise #fresh Sunset views like this literally take my breath away.
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#lasnubes #jerico #antioquia #colombia #sunset #hike #travel #viajar #weekendtrip #green #montaña #mountains I could just sit and admire this view for hours
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#queenstown #newzealand #lake #bluesky #beautifulview #travel #travelgram #backpacking #mountains #montaña #1yearago Last night's sunset with a view!
www.veggietravellingteacher.com
#jerico #antioquia #colombia #southamerica #view #landscape #paisaje #travel #travelgram #weekendtrip #findesemana #mountains #montaña
